Publisert av: For the Little Prince - Per | april 8, 2010

An Introduction to Clarice Lispector

«O que não sei dizer é mais importante do que o que eu digo.»
Clarice Lispector
Add_quote
«Who has not asked himself at some time or other: am I a monster or is this what it means to be a person?»
Clarice Lispector (A Hora Da Estrela)
Add_quote
// // //
«Things were somehow so good that they were in danger of becoming very bad because what is fully mature is very close to rotting»
Clarice Lispector (A Hora Da Estrela)
Add_quote
«I only achieve simplicity with enormous effort»
Clarice Lispector (A Hora Da Estrela)
Add_quote
«Por te falar eu te assustarei e te perderei? mas se eu não falar eu me perderei, e por me perder eu te perderia.»
Clarice Lispector
Add_quote
«And I want to be held down. I don’t know what to do with the horrifying freedom that can destroy me.»
Clarice Lispector (The Passion According to G.H.)
Add_quote
«Quando se ama não é preciso entender o que se passa lá fora, pois tudo passa a acontecer dentro de nós»
Clarice Lispector
Add_quote
«Who hasn’t asked himself, am I a monster or is this what it means to be human?»
Clarice Lispector
Add_quote
«The world’s continual breathing is what we hear and call silence.»
Clarice Lispector (The Passion According to G.H.)
Add_quote
«Reality prior to my language exists as an unthinkable thought. . . . life precedes love, bodily matter precedes the body, and one day in its turn language shall have preceded possession of silence.»
Clarice Lispector (The Passion According to G.H.)
Add_quote
«‘I’ is merely one of the world’s instantaneous spasms.»
Clarice Lispector (The Passion According to G.H.)
Add_quote
«So long as I have questions to which there are no answers, I shall go on writing.»
Clarice Lispector (The Hour of the Star)
Add_quote
«What I want is to live of that initial and primordial something that was what made some things reach the point of aspiring to be human.»
Clarice Lispector (The Passion According to G.H.)
Add_quote
«I have grown weary of literature: silence alone comforts me. If I continue to write, it’s because I have nothing more to accomplish in this world except to wait for death. Searching for the word in darkness. Any little success invades me and puts me in full view of everyone. I long to wallow in the mud. I can scarcely control my need for self-abasement, my craving for licentiousness and debauchery. Sin tempts me, forbidden pleasures lure me. I want to be both pig and hen, then kill them and drink their blood.»
Clarice Lispector
Add_quote
«Que ninguém se engane: só se consegue a simplicidade através de muito trabalho.»
Clarice Lispector
Add_quote
«Even great men are only truly recognized and honored once they are dead. Why? Because those who praise them need to feel themselves somehow superior to the person praised, they need to feel they are making some concession. »
Clarice Lispector (Near to the Wild Heart)
Add_quote
«Ignorance of the law of irreducibility was no excuse. I could no longer excuse myself with the claim that I didn’t know the law — for knowledge of self and of the world is the law that, even though unattainable, cannot be broken, and no one can excuse himself by saying that he doesn’t know it. . . . The renewed originality of the sin is this: I have to carry out my unknowing, I shall be sinning originally against life.»
Clarice Lispector (The Passion According to G.H.)
Add_quote
«The mystery of human destiny is that we are fated, but that we have the freedom to fulfill or not fulfill our fate: realization of our fated destiny depends on us. While inhuman beings like the cockroach realize the entire cycle without going astray because they make no choices.»
Clarice Lispector (The Passion According to G.H.)
Add_quote
«In the world there exists no aesthetic plane, not even the aesthetic plane of goodness.»
Clarice Lispector (The Passion According to G.H.)
Add_quote
«For at the hour of death you became a celebrated film star, it is a moment of glory for everyone, when the choral music scales the top notes.
»
Clarice Lispector (The Hour of the Star)
Add_quote
«Haber nacido me ha estropeado la salud.»
Clarice Lispector
Add_quote
«Escrevo por não ter nada a fazer no mundo: sobrei e não há lugar para mim na terra dos homens. Escrevo porque sou um desesperado e estou cansado, não suporto mais a rotina de me ser e se não fosse a sempre novidade que é escrever, eu me morreria simbolicamente todos os dias. (A hora da estrela)»
Clarice Lispector
Add_quote
«(…)sentou-se para descansar e em breve fazia de conta que ela era uma mulher azul porque o crepúsculo mais tarde talvez fosse azul, faz de conta que fiava com fios de ouro as sensações. faz de conta que a infância era hoje e prateada de brinquedos, faz de conta que uma veia não se abrira e faz de conta que dela não estava em silêncio alvíssimo escorrendo sangue escarlate, e que ela não estivesse pálida de morte mas isso fazia de conta que estava mesmo de verdade, precisava no meio do faz de conta falar a verdade de pedra opaca para que contrastasse com o faz de conta verde-cintilante, faz de conta que amava e era amada, faz de conta que não precisava morrer de saudade, faz de conta que estava deitada na palma transparente de Deus, não Lóri mas o seu nome secreto que ela por enquanto ainda não podia usufruir, faz de conta que vivia e não que estivesse morrendo pois viver afinal não passava de se aproximar cada vez mais da morte, faz de conta que ela não ficava de braços caídos de perplexidade quando os fios de ouro que fiava se embaraçavam e ela não sabia desfazer o fino fio frio, faz de conta que ela era sábia bastante para desfazer os nós de corda de marinheiro que lhe atavam os pulsos, faz de conta que tinha um cesto de pérolas só para olhar a cor da lua pois ela era lunar, faz de conta que ela fechasse os olhos e seres amados surgissem quando abrisse os olhos úmidos de gratidão, faz de conta que tudo o que tinha não era faz de conta, faz de conta que se descontraía o peito e uma luz douradíssima e leve guiava por uma floresta de açudes mudos e de tranqüilas mortalidades, faz de conta que ela não era lunar, faz de conta que ela não estava chorando por dentro.»
Clarice Lispector
Add_quote
«But don’t forget, in the meantime, that this is the season for strawberries. Yes.»
Clarice Lispector (The Hour of the Star)
Add_quote
«And now — now it only remains for me to light a cigarette and go home. Dear God, only now am I remembering that people die. Does that include me?
Don’t forget, in the meantime, that this is the season for strawberries. Yes.»
Clarice Lispector
Add_quote
«I like poisons, the slowest

and drinks, the stronges

and coffee, the bitterest

and the craziest hallucinations.

You can even throw me off a cliff, I’ll say:

So what? I love to fly»
Clarice Lispector

Add_quote
«I ask myself: is every story that has ever been written in this world, a story of suffering and affliction?

»
Clarice Lispector (The Hour of the Star)

Add_quote
«“I do not know much. But there are certain advantages in not knowing. Like virgin territory, the mind is free of preconceptions. Everything I do not know forms the greater part of me: This is my largesse. And with this I understand everything. The things I do not know constitute my truth.”»
Clarice Lispector

Legg igjen en kommentar

Kategorier