Publisert av: For the Little Prince - Per | juni 1, 2008

The Whinny in the Corral

It’s been a long time since I have ridden horse.

I have images of MY horse, however, when I found this image

online, I couldn’t resist posting it. This horse is identical to the

Appaloosa Standardbred that I grew up riding. His name was

Mr. Ed. He was a good trail riding horse. At 17.5 Hands, I

had to get a five gallon pail in order to mount him bareback.

He only threw me once. I was galloping across a plowed field

and, apparently, Mr. Ed thought that our riding session was

over. He stopped abruptly and I sailed over his left side and

he proceeded to gallop over all of me, with his hind left hoof

kicking me on the right side of my head. It’s things like that

that you don’t forget. The day when my favorite riding horse

threw me. ‘We’ never did discuss this misadventure. All I know

is that it was a rare attempt at throwing me off and there was

no warning that he had planned to do so.

****************************************************

Such is life. Sometimes, something happens that catches you

off guard when you least expect it.

***************************************************

I forgave that favorite horse of mine and I got back in the

saddle again. It goes to show that even good natured horses

have their days. And, this was HIS day to get even with me.

***************************************************

We parted as friends, my horse and I. I went off to college and

our neighbors took care of my horses until it was no longer feasible.

In retrospect, if I could have emptied out my savings account and worked

overtime throughout college, I could have kept my favorite horse. But,

the life ahead of me called out louder than the whinny in the corral.

**********************************************************

I sure do miss HIM.

**********************************************************

Sandy S Zoo

http://www.cottoncandycloud.wordpress.com

Legg igjen en kommentar

Kategorier

