Publisert av: For the Little Prince - Per | april 20, 2008

Back Flips for Charity

Back Flips for Charity: Isn’t That A Great Idea?

http://www.compfused.com/directlink/227/

I, Sandy, was reading about a fellow who raised

money by learning to do a back flip. One interesting

detail is that the meaning of a back flip in the

United States and the meaning of a back flip internationally

are very different. I’ll provide a link to the charitable site

later, as time allows.

This is really cool!

My whole interests in doing a back flip relates back

to when I was about 14 years old. I was at the end

of a swimming session: Intermediate Swimmers.

To pass the course, I needed to do a back dive off

of the low board. For some reason, I just couldn’t

*will* myself to do it. I stood on the edge of the

board, my little toes grasping onto the edge and

I just couldn’t do it, I thought. After 15-20 minutes

of prodding, my instruction said, «Sandy, you are

not going to pass this class unless you do a back

dive.» «Splash!» I did it. But, it didn’t stop there.

«O.K, Sandy, do one more back dive.» «You have

too much arch in your back and you should enter

the water like a ‘board’.» I was entering the water

face first, that is my face landed first and the

rest of my body followed.

***

Ah, hah! I learned very quickly that the curvature

of my back and putting a little more effort into the

jump, that I could accomplish a 360 degree flip.

And, this wasn’t enough. I went to the local pool

and found that the height between me and the water

on the high board gave me ‘more time and space’ to

accomplish a 360 degree flip. As time went on, I

was ‘in shape’ then, I learned that if I put even more

spring into my step, and more force into my departure,

that I could do a 1 1/2 flip off of the high board.

***

Twenty years have past, and I wondered if I could

ever do that again. I tried the other night, April 17, 2008.

My children and their little friends sat on the edge of the pool

watching. It was actually quite delightful! One little friend

said, «You are very brave. That is courage.» She is seven years

old. My little preschoolers reminded me daily, «Mom, you can

do a back flip off of the diving board. That is really neat.»

***

I am thankful. I am blessed. I didn’t think that I had retained

the ability. I did it! I am proud! I can do all things in Christ

who strengthens me!

**

I would recommend some additional back support if you are

to try this. My back has been ‘whining’ a lot in the days after

diving at the pool.

Peace-

Sandy S. Zoo

www.cottoncandycloud.wordpress.com

P.S. Oh, yes, I have pictures. The picture that a

friend took looks like I am sitting in a chair

four feet about the water. It is, as they say,

hilarious. Got to have a sense of humor!

Responses

  1. June 20th, 2009

    Oops! I did it again.

    This time, I have video footage.

    Luckily for me, the video is ‘locked’

    inside of my laptop and I can’t seem to

    transfer it from my laptop to my PC.

    I’ll get there. My PC repair man is working

    on it. Patience……


Legg igjen en kommentar

Kategorier

